Awards & Competitions

Dark Side Case Competition

The Dark Side Case Competition is designed to encourage and acknowledge case writing that addresses the dark side of contemporary capitalism. Details for the 2016 competition and information about past years’ winners can be found here. This award is sponsored by Sobey PhD (Management), Saint Mary's University.


Dark Side Case Study Competition Winners 2017, Syeda Maseeha Qumer, ICFAI University (not pictured), Debapratim Purkayastha, IBS Hyderabod and Vijaya Narapareddy, University of Denver, 'A Sexual Harassment Complaint and the Fallout' (with Fernanda Sauerbronn)

Annual Awards

Best Critical Paper

Each year the Division awards a prize for Best Paper from the main scholarly program. This prize is sponsored by the journal Organization. Here are the previous winners.
Best critical paper

Best Critical Paper 2017, Daniel Nyberg, University of Newcastle, Christopher Wright, University of Sydney and Jacqueline Kirk, University of Nottingham/ ICCSR (not pictured), 'Fracking the Future: Temporality, Framing and the Politics of Unconventional Fossil Fuels' (with Raza Mir)


Best Doctoral Student Paper

Each year an award is made by the Division for the Best Student Paper. Here are details of what counts as an eligible entry for this competition. This award is sponsored by the journal Organization.

Best Doctoral Student Paper 2017, Seray Ergene, University of Massachusetts Amherst, 'Organization Theorizing for Sustainablilty: Un-making People and Nature Exploitable'. Here is a Spotlight on Seray Ergene.


Best International Business Paper

The Division also makes an award for Best International Business Paper. The prize is sponsored by the journal Critical Perspectives on International Business and the Emerald Publishing Group. Here are details of previous winners.

Best Critical Paper on International Business 2017, Jingqi Zhu, New Castle University and Rick Delbridge, Cardiff University, 'Infantilisation and ‘Tough Love’ in the Chinese Workplace: Towards a New Form of Paternalism?'


Best Critical Management Learning and Education Paper

The Division award for Best Critical Management Learning & Education paper is sponsored by the journal Management Learning.
Here are details of previous winners.
Best management learning paper

Best Critical Management Learning and Education Paper 2017, Kenneth Mølbjerg Jørgensen, Aalborg University, 'Entanglements of Storytelling and Power in the Enactment of Organizational Subjectivity' (with Emma Bell and Todd Bridgman)


Best CMS Reviewer

An award is also made each year for the Best Developmental Reviewer in the Division. Best Developmental Reviewer Award 2017, Bill Harley, University of Melbourne. Here are previous winners.

Doctoral Dissertation/Thesis Award

Each year we award a prize to an outstanding doctoral dissertation/thesis that draws on and contributes to CMS. If you have completed your doctoral dissertation/thesis in the specified time period in any of the fields associated with critical management studies do consider entering this competition. The award is sponsored by the journal Organization and SAGE publishing. Here are details of the competition and past winners.
Best dissertation

Doctoral Dissertation Award Winner 2017, Jennifer Manning, Dublin Institute of Technology, 'Maya Women Organising in the Margins: A Post/Decolonial Feminist Approach'. Here is a Spotlight on Jennifer Manning.