Critical Management Studies (CMS) is a Division of the Academy Of Management. Each year, Division members are invited to stand for election to the Executive Committee. This group is responsible for organizing the Annual Meeting program, including Professional Development Workshops, Main Scholarly Program, Division keynote speakers, social events and awards. Members of the Executive Committee serve for a five year term, including as Division Chair. There is also the option to stand for election to the Executive on a Co-Chair basis. Within the Division, there are a number of elected Representatives-at-Large who usually serve for a three-year term. The Representatives-at-Large contribute to the development of the Division through organization of Dark Side Case Competition, newsletter editorship, doctoral workshops, social media and outreach activities. If you are interested in standing for election to one of these roles, please contact a member of the current Executive Committee.

Executive Committee 2018-2019

Banu Özkazanç-Pan
Past Division Co-Chair
University of Massachusetts-Boston, USA
Paul Donnelly
Past Division Co-Chair
Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland

Mark Learmonth
Division Chair
Durham University, UK
Stephen Cummings
Stephen Cummings
Division Co-Chair Elect
Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Ajnesh Prasad
Ajnesh Prasad
Division Co-Chair Elect
Technologico de Monterrey, Mexico
Patrizia Zanoni
Patrizia Zanoni
Main Scholarly Program Co-Chair
Hasselt University, Belgium
Marcos Barros
Marcos Barros
Main Scholarly Program Co-Chair
Grenoble Ecole de Management, France
Fernanda Sauerbronn
Fernanda Sauerbronn
Program Co-Chair Elect [PDW Chair] Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Amon Barros
Program Co-Chair Elect [PDW Chair] Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Division Treasurer 2017-2020

Arturo E. Osorio
Rutgers University, USA


Eda Ulus
Representative-at-Large (Communication – Newsletter), 2018-2021
University of Leicester, UK
Marie Hasbi
Representative-at-Large (Communication - Social Media & Website), 2018-2021
University Paris 2, France
Garance Marechal
Garance Marechal
Representative-at-Large (Ethics and Inclusion), 2017-2020
University of Liverpool, UK
Virpi Malin
Representative-at-Large (Membership and Outreach), 2018-2021
School of Business and Economics, Finland

Past Division Chairs

Ralph Stablein (2003/4); David Jacobs (2004/5); Steve Jaros (2005/6); Rose Batt (2006/7); Bill Cooke (2007/8); Albert Mills and Jean Helms Mills (2008/9); Ann Cunliffe (2009/10); Craig Prichard (2010/11); Sarah Stookey (2011/12); Alex Faria (2012/13); Gavin Jack and Jan Schapper (2013/14); Raza Mir (2014/15); Emma Bell and Scott Taylor (2015/16); Nimruji Jammulamadaka and Latha Poonamallee (2016/17) ; Banu Özkazanç-Pan and Paul Donnelly (2017/18).

Past Representatives-at-large (2005 onwards)

Maria-Jose Tonelli; Raza Mir; Jim Barker; Bill Harley; Roy Stager Jacques; Latha Poonamallee; Richard Marens; Alessia Contu; Jessica Heineman-Pieper; Rafael Alcadipani; Maxim Voronov; Mary Goodwyn; Marianna Fotaki; Pauline Fatien; Rosalie Hilde; Denise Barros; Ana Maria Peredo; Sarah Gilmore; Gabie Durepos; Robbin Derry; Jonathan Murphy ; Nadia deGama ; Patrizia Hoyer.

Division Elections 2019

In accordance with the CMS Division by laws, the nominations and election process for Divisional roles is led and co-ordinated by the Nominations and Elections Committee comprising the Past Chair (who oversees the election process), Chair and Chair-elect. For the 2019 Division elections, we will be looking for nominations to fill 1 position on the Executive Committee from August 2019:

  • Program Chair Elect (PDW Chair), 5-year Chair Track

The Division welcomes nominations for this role on an individual (one person as chair) or shared (two people as co-chairs) basis.

The call for nominations goes out in January 2019 and closes February 2019. Once the nomination call has closed, nominated candidates who wish to proceed are put forward into an election ballot. This election is open to all CMS Division members and takes place from mid-April to mid-May 2019. The AOM's campaigning policy with respect to elections states that ‘no politicking’ is allowed.

Please feel free to contact Banu Özkazanç-Pan ( and Paul Donnelly ( if you are interested in discussing and learning more about this role.