Critical Management Studies (CMS) is a Division of the Academy Of Management. Each year, Division members are invited to stand for election to the Executive Committee. This group is responsible for organizing the Annual Meeting program, including Professional Development Workshops, Main Scholarly Program, Division keynote speakers, social events, and awards. Members of the Executive Committee serve for a five-year term, including as Division Chair. There is also the option to stand for election to the Executive on a Co-Chair basis. Within the Division, there are a number of elected Representatives-at-Large who usually serve for a three-year term. The Representatives-at-Large contribute to the development of the Division through the organization of Dark Side Case Competition, newsletter editorship, doctoral workshops, social media, and outreach activities. If you are interested in standing for election to one of these roles, please contact a member of the current Executive Committee.


MarkMark Learmonth
Past Division Chair
Durham University, UK
StephenStephen Cummings
Division Co-Chair 
Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Mark-1-683x1024.jpgAjnesh Prasad
Division Co-Chair
Technologico de Monterrey, Mexico
PatriziaPatrizia Zanoni
Division Co-Chair Elect
Hasselt University, Belgium
marcosMarcos Barros
Division Co-Chair Elect
Grenoble Ecole de Management, France
fernandaFernanda Sauerbronn
Main Scholarly Program Co-Chair Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
amonAmon Barros
Main Scholarly Program Co-Chair Essex Business School, UK
alisonAlison Pullen
Program Co-Chair Elect [PDW Chair] Macquarie University, Australia
OzanOzan Alakavuklar 
Program Co-Chair Elect [PDW Chair] Utrecht University, Netherlands


Arturo E. Osorio
Rutgers University, USA


EdaEda Ulus
(Communication– Newsletter), 2018-2021
University of Dundee, Scotland, UK
MarieMarie Hasbi
Representative-at-Large (Communication - Social Media & Website), 2018-2021
Vrije University, NL
Garance MarechalGarance Marechal
Representative-at-Large (Ethics and Inclusion), 2017-2020
University of Liverpool, UK
VirpiVirpi Malin
Representative-at-Large (Membership and Outreach), 2018-2021
School of Business and Economics, Finland


Ralph Stablein (2003/4); David Jacobs (2004/5); Steve Jaros (2005/6); Rose Batt (2006/7); Bill Cooke (2007/8); Albert Mills and Jean Helms Mills (2008/9); Ann Cunliffe (2009/10); Craig Prichard (2010/11); Sarah Stookey (2011/12); Alex Faria (2012/13); Gavin Jack and Jan Schapper (2013/14); Raza Mir (2014/15); Emma Bell and Scott Taylor (2015/16); Nimruji Jammulamadaka and Latha Poonamallee (2016/17); Banu Özkazanç-Pan and Paul Donnelly (2017/18).


Maria-Jose Tonelli; Raza Mir; Jim Barker; Bill Harley; Roy Stager Jacques; Latha Poonamallee; Richard Marens; Alessia Contu; Jessica Heineman-Pieper; Rafael Alcadipani; Maxim Voronov; Mary Goodwyn; Marianna Fotaki; Pauline Fatien; Rosalie Hilde; Denise Barros; Ana Maria Peredo; Sarah Gilmore; Gabie Durepos; Robbin Derry; Jonathan Murphy; Nadia deGama; Patrizia Hoyer.


In accordance with the CMS Division by laws, the nominations and election process for Divisional roles is led and coordinated by the Nominations and Elections Committee comprising the Past Chair (who oversees the election process), Chair and Chair-elect. For the 2020 Division elections, we will be looking for nominations to fill 3 positions on the Executive Committee from August 2020:

  • Program Chair-Elect (PDW Chair), 5-year Chair Track
  • Representative-at-Large (Ethics and Inclusion)
  • Treasurer
To get a sense of what the roles involve, go to

The Division welcomes nominations for this role on an individual (one person as chair) or shared (two people as co-chairs) basis.

The call for nominations goes out in January 2020 and closes 27 February 2020. Once the nomination call has closed, nominated candidates who wish to proceed are put forward into an election ballot. This election is open to all CMS Division members and takes place from mid-April to mid-May 2020. The AOM's campaigning policy with respect to elections states that ‘no politicking’ is allowed.

Please feel free to contact Mark Learmonth ( if you are interested in discussing and learning more about this role.