Awards & Competitions

Awards & Competitions

Annual Awards 2022

Best Critical Paper

Each year the Division awards a prize for Best Paper from the main scholarly program. This prize is sponsored by the journal OrganizationHere are the previous winners.

Paulina Segarra (Universidad Anáhuac México) and Ajnesh Prasad (Royal Roads University)
Undocumented Immigrants at Work: Invisibility, Hypervisibility, and the Making of the Modern Slave

Best Doctoral Student Paper 

Each year an award is made by the Division for the Best Student Paper. Here are details of what counts as an eligible entry for this competition. This award is sponsored by the journal Organization.


 Elise Lobbedez (EMLYON Business School)
“Liberté, Egalité, Flashball”. Resisting Work to Absorb Violent Protests

Best International Business Paper 

The Division also makes an award for Best International Business Paper. The prize is sponsored by the journal Critical Perspectives on International Business and the Emerald Publishing Group. Here are the details of the previous winners.

Patrizia Zanoni (Utrecht University) and Milosz Miszczynski (Kozminski University)
Post-Diversity, Precarious Work for All: Unbordering Categories of Difference in an Amazon Warehouse

Best CMS Reviewer

An award is also made each year for the Best Developmental Reviewer in the Division. Here are the previous winners.

Best Developmental Reviewer Award 2022,
Costanza Sartoris (Ca’Foscari University)

Doctoral Dissertation/Thesis Award 

Each year we award a prize to an outstanding doctoral dissertation/thesis that draws on and contributes to CMS. If you have completed your doctoral dissertation/thesis in the specified time period in any of the fields associated with critical management studies, do consider entering this competition. The award is sponsored by the journal Organization. Here are the details of the competition and past winners.

Genevieve Shanahan (Grenoble Ecole de Management)
The Local Prefiguration of a Global Sustainable Food System: Reconciling Radical Democracy and Scale Through Technology

Gaurish Chawla (University of Durham)
The stories that I wrote/ The I that Stories wrote

Best Critical Gender, Work & Organization

The division award for Best Critical Gender, Work, and Organization is sponsored by the journal Gender, Work & Organization. Here are the details of past winners. 

Celina McEwen (University of Technology, Sydney), Alison Pullen (Macquarie Business School) and Carl Rhodes (University of Technology, Sydney)
Repressive Equality Regimes: Theorizing the Disconnections in Organizational Equity Practices

Best Paper in Critical Business Ethics

The Division award for Best Critical Business Ethics is sponsored by the Journal of Business Ethics.
Here are the details of past winners. 

Habib Urahman (Australian Burmese Rohingya Organization) and Fahreen Alamgir (Monash University)
The Political Economy of Slow Genocide, Racial Capitalism and Making of De facto Stateless Rohingya