Dark Side Case Competition

The CMS Division is pleased to sponsor the annual Dark Side Case Competition at the Academy of Management meeting. The competition is designed to encourage and acknowledge case writing that addresses the dark side of contemporary capitalism. The 2024 competition will be coordinated by Elina Riivari.

2024 Call for Dark Side Case Competition

If you are interested in using these cases for academic purposes, they are published as listed below:

Raufflet, E., & Mills, A. J. (Eds.). 2009. The Dark Side: Critical Cases on the Downside of Business. Sheffield: Greenleaf Publishing.

Diochon, P.F., Raufflet, E. and Mills, A.J. (Eds.) 2013. The Dark Side 2: Critical Cases on the Downside of Business. Sheffield: Greenleaf Publishing.
Sauerbronn, F.F., Diochon, P.F., Raufflet, E. and Mills, A.J. (Eds.) 2018. The Dark Side 3: Critical Cases on the Downside of Business. . New York: Routledge.

Competition Winners:

2023 Manuela Lorenzo (FGV-EBAPE), Bianca Sá (FGV-EBAPE) and Ana Christina Celano (FGV-EBAPE)
Rio de Janeiro, the Wonderful City, gets Smarter, but for whom?

2022 Mayah Moosajee (Wilfrid Laurier University) and Prescott Ensign (Lazaridis School of Business & Economics)
Orange Shirt Day Commercialization: Further Exploitation of Indigenous Peoples, and Appropriation of Culture and Heritage

2021 Lucia Oliveira (FGV-EBAPE), Bianca Sa (FGV-EBAPE) and Ana Celano (Faculdades Ibmec)
Black Employees (Should) Matter

2020 Joint Winners
(1) Caterina Bettin (Saint Mary's University) and Jean Helms Mills (Saint Mary's University)
Makeup Naive?
(2) Susanna Kultalahti (University of Vaasa) and Riitta Viitala (University of Vaasa)
No Smoke without Fire? The Power Play Between Employee Autonomy and Employer Authority

2019 Stefanie Ruel (Concordia University)
Rogue One: The Canadian Space Agency and Understanding the (Non) Inclusive Organization

2018 Debapratim Purkayastha (IBS Hyderabad), Syeda Maseeha Qumer (ICFAI University) and Vonod Babu Koti (IBS Business School)
Ashely Madison Hacking and the Ethics of Hacktivism

2017 Syeda Maseeha Qumer (ICFAI), Debapratim Purkayastha (IBS Hyderabad) and Vijaya Narapareddy (University of Denver)
A Sexual Harassment Complaint and the Fallout

2016 Joint Winners
(1) Nimruji Jammulamadaka (Indian Institute of Management Calcutta), Biswatosh Saha (Indian Institute of Management Calcutta), Manisha Goswami (CPR-Namati) and Bharatkumar Kacharabhai Patel (MASS, CPR-Namati),
Compromised Livelihoods in Vapi: What needs to be cleaned up in the Armpit of India?

(2) Nicole Spohr (FGV-EAESP), Amon Barros (FGV-EAESP) and Marcus Vinicius Peinado Gomes (FGV-EAESP),
Whose Wealth is That? Discussing Human Rights and Mining in the Global South

2015 Lesley Symons (The Case for Women) and Debrapatim Purkayastha (IBS Hyderabad, India)
What’s Good for the Goose is Good for the Gander?

2014 Celine Louche (Audencia Nantes School of Management, France) and Nigel Roome (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium),
A 101 Second Clip to Create Change: Palm Oil Role Play

2013 Colm McLaughlin & Todd Bridgman,
Apple and the Human Costs of Production

2012  Emmanuel Raufflet,
Hydro-Québec and the Crees: The Great Whale 2 Project

2011 Susan Myrden and Kathy Sanderson,
Kraft Foods Argentina - The H1N1 Disparity

2010 Sonya A. Grier (American University) and Guillaume D. Johnson (Witwatersrand University),
"Alisha in Obesity-land”: Is Food Marketing the Mad Hatter?

2009 Todd Bridgman. (Victoria University of Wellington),
Mercury Energy

2008 Mary Godwyn, Ph.D. (Babson College),
Hugh Connerty and HOOTERS

2007 Joint Winner:
Ann Lawerence,
Google, Inc: “Figuring out how to deal with China.”
Branzei, Oana and K.McKague,
City Water Tanzania

2006 Emmanuel Raufflet, Yves Rocher in La Gacilly, France
Monique Le Chêne (HEC Montreal),
The Smell of Power