Awards & Competitions

Awards & Competitions

Dark Side Case Competition

The Dark Side Case Competition is designed to encourage and acknowledge case writing that addresses the dark side of contemporary capitalism. Details for the 2019 competition and information about past years’ winners can be found here. This award is sponsored by Routledge.


Dark Side Case Study Competition Winners 2018,Debapratim Purkayastha, IBS Hyderabo,Syeda Maseeha Qumer, ICFAI University , and Vonod Babu Koti, IBS Business School, ‘Ashely Madison Hacking and the Ethics of Hacktivism’ (with Mark Learmonth)

Annual Awards

Best Critical Paper

Each year the Division awards a prize for Best Paper from the main scholarly program. This prize is sponsored by the journal Organization. Here are the previous winners.

Best Critical Paper 2018, Anna Galvez, University Oberta de Catalunya, Francisco Tirado, University Autonoma De Barcelona and Jose M.Manuel Alcarez, Munich Business School, ‘Micro-Resistance in Teleworking.Tactics and Subjectivity in Female Teleworkers’


Best Doctoral Student Paper

Each year an award is made by the Division for the Best Student Paper. Here are details of what counts as an eligible entry for this competition. This award is sponsored by the journal Organization.

Best Doctoral Student Paper 2018, Ng Kong Man Joey , The Open University of Hong Kong, ‘Insignificance of Well-Being in a Chinese Context: An Anthropological Examination’ (With Stephen Cummings & Ajnesh Prasad)
Here is a Spotlight on Ng Kong Man Joey.


Best International Business Paper

The Division also makes an award for Best International Business Paper. The prize is sponsored by the journal Critical Perspectives on International Business and the Emerald Publishing Group. Here are details of previous winners.

Best Critical Paper on International Business 2018, Alexandre Faria, EBAPE/FGV and Marcus Hemais (Not pictured), IAG/PUC Rio de Janeiro, ‘Historicizing the New Global Consumerism from the Perspective of Emerging Worlds’ (with Mark Learmonth)


Best Critical Management Learning and Education Paper

The Division award for Best Critical Management Learning & Education paper is sponsored by the journal Management Learning.
Here are details of previous winners.

Best Critical Management Learning and Education Paper 2018, Nick Butler, Stockholm University and Sverre Spoelstra,Lund University, ‘Academics at Play: Why the ‘Publication Game’ is More than a Metaphor’ (with Todd Bridgman)


Best CMS Reviewer

An award is also made each year for the Best Developmental Reviewer in the Division. Best Developmental Reviewer Award 2018, Stephane Jaumier, Grenoble Ecole de Management. Here are previous winners.

Doctoral Dissertation/Thesis Award

Each year we award a prize to an outstanding doctoral dissertation/thesis that draws on and contributes to CMS. If you have completed your doctoral dissertation/thesis in the specified time period in any of the fields associated with critical management studies do consider entering this competition. The award is sponsored by the journal Organization and SAGE publishing. Here are details of the competition and past winners.

Doctoral Dissertation Award Winner 2018, Stefanie Ruel, Athabasca University, ‘Multiplicities of “I'” in Intersectionality: Women’s Exclusion from STEM Management in the Canadian Space Industry’. Here is a Spotlight on Stefanie Ruel.


Best Paper in Critical Business Ethics

The Division award for Best Critical Business Ethics is sponsored by Journal of Business Ethics.

Best Paper in Critical Business Ethics 2018, Fahreen Alamgir, Monash University and Ozan Nadir Alakavuklae ,Massey University Albany, ‘Exploring Compliance Code and the Making of Ethics Focusing on Bangladeshi Apparel Industry’ (with Raza Mir)